Tags

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not really into the new age social media sites, blogging, and things of that nature…I tend to be pretty old school with things like that.  When A said she wanted to create a blog to journal the events of our lives, my immediate reaction was reluctance.  But after a lot of thought, and consideration…..I gave in.  So here it is….my very first EVER blog post.

Yesterday, November 9th, was a very special day for us, as it was A’s milestone 25th birthday.  For quite some time during our relationship, I have felt that, in years past, A’s birthday has gone rather unnoticed.  So, I wanted to do everything I could to make it a very special birthday.  I wanted her to feel as special as she is to me.  One of the first gift ideas that came to mind was jewelry, but not because I believe material things are the most important.   At one point in our relationship, A told me that nobody had ever given her jewelry (of value).  So, I wanted the opportunity to get to be the first.  I tried to keep this in mind as the day drew near, and was able to find a beautiful pair of diamond stud earrings.  I was really happy to get to be the first to buy her a diamond of any type.  I, also, wanted to take her somewhere special, and remembered her saying she enjoyed going to look at Christmas lights (also one of my favorite things).  She also mentioned that she had never been to the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, NC.  So, as I was browsing the internet looking at tickets for admission to the estate, I noticed that the estate’s annual “Candlelight Evenings” started only 2 days after her birthday (on the 11th).  This is when the estate decorates the house and property with Christmas lights, wreaths, and all of the other great things of Christmas.  So I was really excited to, again, experience a first with her….going to the Biltmore….with the added bonus of something we both love…Christmas.  So, the tickets were purchased and we are all set to go this Saturday, the 12th. (The tickets in the picture are “I owe you’s” since they are at Will Call for pick up).  I’m looking very forward to it.  I also, made a card, not wanting everything to be “store bought”.  It says, “To my dearest Amanda.  Happy 25th Birthday!!  I love you a zillion times a drillion times infinity +++ four smiles and 3 hearts” (one of our little sayings to each other).  The wine in the picture is a “special” peach wine from Carolina Mist Winery which we bought on our very 1st wine tour together.  We agreed that we would save it for a special occasion, and what better occasion than A’s birthday.  We, also, have a bottle of Cranberry Chianti that we plan on having on our one year anniversary coming up on Christmas Day.  For her birthday dinner, we had Mexican…something we both really enjoy.

A is such a special, sweet person, and I hope that I was able to give her the birthday she deserved.

I know my first post is somewhat long…but I wanted the full effect for my first post.  Hope you enjoyed.

